Honorary Life Members of the IAHR

The International Committee of the IAHR decided during its meeting in Mexico City on August 9, 1995 to honor colleagues who have distinguished themselves through life-long service to the history of religions. The status of "Honorary Life Member of the IAHR" is conferred in recognition of their scholarship and service to our discipline. Their contributions to the study of religion have brought enlightenment and inspiration, and the International Committee hopes that this small gesture of recognition will serve to encourage them in their future activities.The following is the list of persons currently appearing in this roll of honor.

Current Honorary Life Members

Professor Dr. Peter Antes

Institut für Religionswissenschaft
Leibniz Universität Hannover
Appelstr. 11 A
D-30167 Hannover
e-mail: antes@mbox.rewi.uni-hannover.de

Professor Brian Bocking
Study of Religions Dept.,
University College Cork
College Road
Cork, Ireland
e-mail: B.Bocking@ucc.ie

Professor Giovanni Casadio
Università degli Studi di Salerno
Via Giovanni Paolo II, 132 - 84084 - Fisciano
Salerno, Italy

Professor, Director Kong Fan
International Confucian Assoc.
No. A-24 Xiao Shi Qiao
Jiu Gu Lou Street
Beijing, China

Professor Dr. Giulia Sfameni Gasparro
Facoltà di Lettere e Filosofía
Dipartimento di studi tardo-antichi medievalie umanistici
Università di Massina
Via dei Verdi
I-98122 Messina, Itlay
e-mail: rosagiulia.gasparro@libero.it

Professor Armin Geertz
Department of the Study of Religions
Bygning 1442
Tåsingegade 3
DK - 8000 Århus C
e-mail: mailto:awg@teo.au.dk

Professor Ingvild Sælid Gilhus
Department of Archaeology, History, Cultural Studies and Religion
University of Bergen
Øisteinsgate 3
5007 Bergen
e-mail: Ingvild.gilhus@uib.no

Professor Rosalind Hackett
Professor Rosalind I. J. Hackett
Department of Religious Studies
University of Tennessee
501 McClung Tower
Knoxville, Tennessee 37996-0450
e-mail: rhackett@utk.edu

Professor Gerrie ter Haar 
International Institute of Social Studies (ISS)
Erasmus University Rotterdam
P.O. Box 2518 AX The Hague
The Netherlands
E-mail: terhaar@iss.nl

Professor Mihály Hoppál (Budapest, Hungary)
Institute of Ethnology
Hungarian Academy of Sciences
H-1250 Budapest, P.O. Box 29
e-mail: mailto:hoppal@etnologia.mta.hu  & mailto:hoppal@upcmail.hu

Professo Morny Joy
University of Calgary
2500 University Dr. NW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T2N 1N4
e-mail: mjoy@ucalgary.ca

Professor  Hans Kippenberg
Comparative Religious Studies
Jacobs University
School of Humanities and Social Sciences    
Campus Ring 1
28759 Bremen
e-mail: mailto:kippen@uni-bremen.de

Professor  Luther Martin
Department  of Religion
University of Vermont
481 Main Street, Vt. 05405

Dr. Jan G. Platvoet
Gildenring 52
3981 JG Bunnik
The Netherlands
email: jgplatvoet@hetnet.nl

Professor Michael Pye
FG Religionswissenschaft
Landgraf-Philipp-Strasse 4
D-35032 Marburg, Germany
e-mail: pye@mailer.uni-marburg.de

Professor Susumu Shimazono
Faculty of Theology, Sophia University
7-1 Kioi-cho, Chiyoda-ku
102-8554 Japan

Professor Hubert Seiwert
Universität Leipzig
Religionswissenschaftliches Institut
Schillerstraße 6
04109 Leipzig
e-mail: seiwert@uni-leipzig.de

Professor Abdulkader Tayob
Department of Religious Studies
University of Cape Town
Private Bag
South Africa
e-mail: Abdulkader.Tayob@uct.ac.za

Professor Y. González Torres
Exconvento de El Carmen
Av. Revolución, esq. Monasterio
San Ángel 010000 Mexico D.F.
e-mail: gtorres_yolotl@yahoo.com.mx

Professor Dr. Akio Tsukimoto
Faculty of Theology, Sophia University
7-1 Kioi-cho, Chiyoda-ku
102-8554 Japan
email: a-tsukimoto-e66@sophia.ac.jp

Former Honorary Life Members

Professor Michio Araki

Professor Louise Bäckman
Solna, Sweden

Professor J. Omosade Awolalu
Ibadan, Nigeria

Professor M. André Caquot
Paris, France

Professor Carsten Colpe
Berlin, Germany

Professor Lauri Honko
Turku, Finland

Professor Åke Hultkrantz
Stockholm, Sweden

Professor J. Leclant
Paris, France

Professor Manuel Marzal
Lima, Peru

Professor G. C. Oosthuizen
Westville, South Africa

Professor Julien Ries
Namur-Suarlee, Belgium

Professor Kurt Rudolph
Marburg, Germany

Professor Annemarie Schimmel
Bonn, Germany

Professor Eric Sharpe
Sydney, Australia

Professor Ninian Smart
Lancaster, England

Professor Jonathan Z. Smith 
Chicago, IL USA

Professor Noriyoshi Tamaru
Tokyo, Japan

Professor Jacques Waardenburg

Professor R. J. Zwi Werblowsky
Jerusalem, Israel

Professor Geo Widengren
Uppsala, Sweden

Professor Donald Wiebe
Canada, Toronto
Prof. Wiebe was an Honorary Life Member from 2015 to 2019. He resigned on Sep. 26, 2019.